EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL

KIRKLEES COUNCIL

At the Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Kirklees held at Council Chamber - Town Hall, Huddersfield on Wednesday 10 May 2017

PRESENT

The Mayor (Councillor Jim Dodds) in the Chair

COUNCILLORS

Councillor Masood Ahmed Councillor Karen Allison Councillor Donna Bellamy **Councillor Cahal Burke** Councillor Andrew Cooper Councillor Donald Firth Councillor Steve Hall Councillor Erin Hill **Councillor Christine Iredale** Councillor Viv Kendrick Councillor John Lawson Councillor Robert Light Councillor Terry Lyons Councillor Naheed Mather Councillor Darren O'Donovan Councillor Andrew Palfreeman **Councillor Nigel Patrick** Councillor Amanda Pinnock **Councillor Kath Pinnock** Councillor Mohammad Sarwar Councillor David Sheard Councillor Elizabeth Smaie Councillor Julie Stewart-Turner Councillor Kath Taylor Councillor Nicola Turner Councillor Gemma Wilson Councillor Fazila Fadia Councillor Bernard McGuin Councillor Rob Walker Councillor Gulfam Asif

Councillor Mahmood Akhtar Councillor Bill Armer Councillor Martyn Bolt Councillor Jean Calvert Councillor Eric Firth Councillor David Hall **Councillor Lisa Holmes Councillor Judith Hughes** Councillor Paul Kane Councillor Musarrat Khan **Councillor Vivien Lees-Hamilton Councillor Gwen Lowe Councillor Andrew Marchington** Councillor Peter McBride Councillor Marielle O'Neill Councillor Shabir Pandor Councillor Carole Pattison **Councillor Andrew Pinnock Councillor Hilary Richards Councillor Cathy Scott** Councillor Ken Sims Councillor Mohan Sokhal Councillor John Taylor Councillor Graham Turner Councillor Sheikh Ullah Councillor Linda Wilkinson **Councillor Michelle Grainger-Mead Councillor Richard Smith Councillor James Homewood** Councillor Richard Eastwood

61 Announcement by the Mayor and Chief Executive

The Mayor conveyed congratulations on behalf of the Council to Kirklees Fairtrade Forum which had recently been successful in renewing its status as a Fairtrade borough.

The Mayor also provided details on the arrangements for the meeting and how the debate on the Kirklees Democracy Commission report would be managed.

62 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Dad, Greaves, Hussain, Kaushik and Watson.

63 Declaration of Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

64 Kirklees Democracy Commission

It was moved by the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Iredale and

RESOLVED - That the provisions of Council Procedure Role 18 be suspended, except parts 18 and 19, and that (i) there would be no restriction on the number of times any member may speak and (ii) each contribution shall be limited to three minutes.

Council received an overview of the work of the Kirklees Democracy Commission from the Chair (Dr Andrew Mycock), which was followed be contributions from Commissioners (Councillors Palfreeman, Scott, Cooper, Fadia and Marchington) and Youth Councillors (Jacob Stelling, Emily Warrillow and Stanley Lawson).

Council then debated and commented upon the recommendations of the Kirklees Democracy Commission Report.

RESOLVED – That the recommendations and content of the report and the debate of Council, be noted and welcomed, and incorporated as appropriate within the final version of the report.